Product reviews: Wolff Hammer Spring New Style Short - SIG P220/P227/P226/P229

Wolff Hammer Spring New Style Short - SIG P220/P227/P226/P229

Wolff Hammer Spring New Style Short - SIG P220/P227/P226/P229
5 stars
 13 review(s)
4 stars: 
 0 review(s)
3 stars: 
 0 review(s)
2 stars: 
 0 review(s)
1 stars: 
 0 review(s)
13 Results Found. Displaying Results 1 - 13

Michael Maslow

May 7, 2018



Top Gun Supply really know their business, in this case, Sig pistols and parts. Wanted to lighten the awful first (double action) trigger pull on my mid-90s W German P228. Bought some Wolf springs last year and went through the torture of replacing the original hammer spring with a 17# one. What a pain! (Compressing the spring to get the pin back in). Also installed the Sig Short Reset Kit at the same time. That was a breeze. Was like night & day! A new, much more shootable gun! Except...not totally reliable ignition with some ammo. So I was faced with putting in the 18# spring. Grrrrrr. Must be something better. And there is: the “new” Sig “Short Reach” hammer strut, seat, and short springs. The great people at Grey Guns suggested I talk with Top Gun Supply, and they fixed me up with the parts. Jeff informed me as to which parts would work with my older P228 and he knows his stuff. I bought the “new style” short reach hammer strut, mainspring seat, and two short mainsprings, an 18# and a 19#. Everything went in very easy and I have the new 18# spring in and will be going to test it this week. With the new setup, it will be very easy to swap for the 19# spring at the range if I need to. ***Only one caveat: I long ago replaced the original Sig hard plastic grips with some plastic Hogues with a grippy rubber-like surface. Really excellent on this gun. BUT! The new hammer strut seat is a little wider than the original seat and prevented the grips from fitting flush. Jeff had said there was a possibility of this, depending on the grip. A quick pass with a Dremel tool took care of the problem and everything fits fine. Trigger pull is so much better than with the stock 21# spring. Fast shipping too. Thanks again Top Gun Supply!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)

Mike Pasternak

Feb 28, 2018



I did some research on trigger pull on my new Sig P227 and selected the Wolff 17# trigger spring. Top Gun Supply had them in stock and at a great price. Made the purchase and got shipping notification almost immediately. Installed the spring and got an 80% improvement on my trigger. I highly recommend Wolff products and Top Gun Supply! Thanks!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

Edward Ressler

Mar 24, 2018



As always, quality sig parts, shipped very fast.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

stephen ardoin

Apr 4, 2018



Great service and prompt shipping.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

Dudley Kent

Apr 13, 2018



work great,fast shiping
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

Willard James

Sep 19, 2018



Given current Sig Mainsprings for Plastic Mainspring Seats are shown by Wolff as a 21# rating, lowering the double action pull is possible by using a lower rated spring, as long as you achieve 100% primer ignition. I have found 19#, to be an optimal compromise. I know some will go as low as 17# on "Range Toys", but for defensive use insure your defensive loads will fire reliably!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

Miika

Oct 1, 2018



Thank you for great customer service, competitive pricing and prompt shipping.

Will return once I need more parts...
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

R P Mike

Dec 2, 2018



Wolff 19lbs spring lightens up the trigger pull just slightly enough to feel better then the standard 21lbs in the classics. This spring is recommended for a defensive gun..
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (1)

R P Mike

Dec 2, 2018



The Wolff 18lbs spring is slightly lighter then the 19lbs and works good in the classics with 100% ignition.
Top Gun Supply mailed the springs out right away and I received within l3 days.
Always great customer service and usually has items in stock.
I highly recommend Top Gun Supply where as I have purchased items before with the same results.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (1)

Gordon Bellamy

Mar 2, 2019



The hammer spring helped cure one of as long list of problems I had with a sig226 that I purchased as factory reconditioned. Never again. I like sig's but reconditioned seems to mean painted.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (1)

Gordon Bellamy

Mar 2, 2019



Top Gun Supply provided me with the correct part with fast delivery.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (1)

ZACK

May 24, 2019



I used the 19# in my p229 classic carry 9mm and it lightened it up a little bit over stock. It has been 100% reliable through about 300rds of Winchester, hornady, and Remington ammo. Top gun supply is good to deal with and got exactly what I needed
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (1)

Rich

Jul 13, 2019



The hammer spring installed easily, I do not have a trigger weight scale but the trigger pull is noticeably smoother and lighter. When dry firing in double action my front sight stays more on target. I Have not been to the range yet.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)